Unzipped Lips

ImageYou’re listening to your all-time favorite song on the radio. Windows rolled down. Volume cranked up. The words fly from your lips.  You can feel the music reverberating in your bones. As I wrote about in “Musical Time Machine,” it’s a song you attach to that person, to this place. It roots you in your own past. I don’t care who sings it, it is your song.

Then, just when it’s about to hit your favorite part…

  • a buzzing noise screeches from the speakers, followed by a robotic voice, declaring, “This is a public service announcement…”
  • your phone rings and it’s a call you have to answer
  • the highway dips into a canyon and you lose the radio signal

And the song is over. You feel cheated, ripped off. The best part of the song is left unsung.

I feel that way just about every Sunday during the Offertory (Psalm 51). For we sing,

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from Thy presence,
And take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation,
And uphold me with Thy free spirit. Amen.

Then the organ music fades away. The voices become mute. And the offering trays are passed about. But me? I’m flabbergasted for the millionth time, for I want to sing on. So, in a voice only I and God can hear, I do. I sing on.

I sing these two lines:

Then will I teach transgressors Thy ways,
And sinners shall be converted unto Thee.

They haven’t always been my favorite lines. But as often happens, the ugly and the beautiful things in life change our perspective. For when a man’s biography has parallels to the life of the songwriter, when his prayers for the restoration of salvation’s joy have been answered, and when the Holy Spirit has recreated and upheld him, he cannot be silent anymore. He must go on not only to sing the rest of the psalm, but to live it.

So I do. I teach my fellow transgressors the ways of the Lord, as well as the ways that lead away from the Lord. Even if that means delving into my own past, to reveal the depths to which a man can fall into the ways of the anti-Lord, I will do it. Why? That sinners might be converted unto Thee, that they might taste and see that the Lord is good, that they might discover that the Lord does indeed wash us thoroughly from our iniquity and cleanse us from our sin, for he purifies us with the hyssop dipped in the blood of Jesus Christ.

Therefore, though other voices may stop, though the music ends, even though I might even get a few dirty looks, I shall sing on.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Unzipped Lips

  1. Yes, keep singing. Oh Lord, open the lips of us all.

  2. Sam Pakan on said:

    Sing on, Chad! We’re singing with you.

Leave a Reply

